tacloban tripping

When you’re on travel on a work assignment and your kids are not with you and you have a window of time for yourself, what do you do?

Get a map and get around.

I have a five-day trip all over Samar when I will spend an average of five hours of travel, two hours of work and two hours of report writing each day. I should have at least a couple of hours of free time that I should plan to spend wisely. On my first day, my body may have been jiggered from the long travel time that I’m no longer used to. So I wasted my free time laying flat in my hotel bed.

Tacloban City is the midpoint of all my destinations for this trip. So I’m focusing all my R&R energy in this area. I got a Tacloban City map from my hotel in Calbayog so I started my trip planning from there.

Here’s my checklist of things to do and places to visit in Tacloban:

Where to eat. This has to be number one. I am preparing my stomach for a Tacloban City foodtrip above all things.

  • Yolanda’s – a coast side restaurant that doubles as a mini-seafood market close to the airport
  • Lechon ni Timo – need I say more?
  • Giuseppe’s – the famed one in Tacloban
  • Ocho Seafood Grill – a modern seafood paluto near the van terminal
  • Julius Jazz bar – for jazz music?
  • Night barbecue in Rizal Street
  • Rafael’s Farm – this is outside Tacloban so getting here might be a long shot

What to do. This will be a short list because I’ve already been to the MacArthur Park during our Samar summer vacation last Feb.

  • Take the Sto. Nino Heritage Museum Tour and buy Sto. Nino images for my grandparents
  • Go shopping for banig and local crafts
  • Go to the public market to buy moron, danggit and fresh bagoong for pasalubong

Where to stay. Hotel Alejandro is of course the first option. But I plan to go around and see if there’s a new lodging discovery in the area.

I hope I get check marks on all the destinations before my trip ends. But still make it on time for my flight home.

2 thoughts on “tacloban tripping

    1. I’m leaving Tacloban first flight tomorrow. But I’ll be back next month. Maybe I can meet with your friend then.

Leave a Reply

