rosemary-lemon chicken

We had a few pieces chicken quarters leftover from the dinner I prepared for Turo’s officemates the other weekend. I pan-roasted the chicken quarters while I cooked last night’s leftovers for lunch today. Ideally, meat for roasting should be elevated on a rack so that it’s the heated air that cooks the meat. This process causes browning or caramelization on the surface of the meat and enhances flavor.

With only four pieces of chicken, there’s no way I’m heating up the LPG-hungry oven to roast this. So stove-top roasting it is, but in the absence of a real roasting pan (something I should consider buying soon), I used a thick-bottomed pan instead. I placed the chicken pieces directly onto the pan and let it cook in its own juices for about 30 minutes.

These are thin pieces of chicken so it shouldn’t take long to cook under low heat. You’ll know it’s done when the juices from the chicken run clear.

Prior to cooking, the chicken was marinated overnight in fish sauce, rosemary and lemon slices. Marinating is the newest trend in my kitchen since I read an article on how marinating with herbs tends to reduce the fat content in meats. I normally use fresh herbs when cooking but only add them as the food is about to get cooked. This way, I get strong and distinct flavors from the herbs being used. Now I’m learning how flavors can change when herbs are used to season food over a longer period of time.

After cooling, I arranged the chicken pieces on a plastic container. For now, they’ll stay in the freezer, ready for grilling whenever. Because today we have reworked leftovers for lunch. Cooked at about the same time that the chicken was done.

Leave a Reply

