mi tortilla

I was up at 3am yesterday. Again. My body clock must be really crazy by now. But when I’m up, I’m up. So while I worked on a new paper that I needed to finish by mid-November, my mind kept asking what we’re having for breakfast today.

The carnivore in me kept begging for a meat dish after eating seafood for several consecutive meals. So I thought of making beef wraps only because I wanted to try out a flour tortilla recipe I got from way back. I checked the time, it’s not even 4am. I do have enough time for a breakfast experiment before the kids wake up.

mi tortillaI mixed 2.5 cups of flour, 1 teaspoon of baking powder and 1/8 teaspoon of salt. Then I cut in 1 tablespoon of bacon oil. Next I added about a cup of hot water into the flour mixture to form a soft dough. After a few minutes of kneading, I let the dough sit for about 20 minutes, covered.

do the dough

Out of the big ball of dough, I made little golf ball-sized dough balls and rolled them out. These I cooked on the stove using a heavy pan. The first side I cooked for about 3 minutes or until some air pockets form from inside. Then I cooked the opposite side for another 1 or 2 minutes.

rolled flat

From this recipe, I was able to make 14 irregularly sized tortillas. I need to work on my rolling skills so I can get perfectly rounded tortillas next time.

irregularly round

To make the wraps, I sauteed ground beef with garlic and chilis. Brother hates chili powder so I don’t use it this time. I grated some cheese. I made salsa by chopping together tomatoes, onion and a mystery herb that grew in the garden. Nobody knew what it was but I was right to assume it would be perfect for salsa.

I used a generous portion of the above ingredients and wrapped them in the tortilla. Then I poured tomato sauce which I made earlier (recipe to be posted next) over the wraps and topped with cheese. Into the toaster for five minutes.

beef wraps

Mother says the tortillas are a bit chewy. I disagree though. The rest of us quite liked it. A nice, homemade meal that’s well worth the effort and the wakeup call. Right, Uri?

he must've liked it

2 thoughts on “mi tortilla

  1. aylaveet! i’ve always wanted to learn that–yung magluluto ka (especially a certain dish for the first time) without a recipe. it seems you know how different kinds of stuff would taste like when put together and how to prepare/cook them the right way. that’s a talent. pano mo ba nagagawa yan? 🙂

    1. i’m really not a good cook. marunong lang akong magluto pero hindi super sarap. but if i can give you a tip, panoorin mo yun jewel in the palace ata yun? yung kay jang geum, para matuto kang “humugot ng panlasa.” hehehe.

      but seriously, i think it’s about enjoying eating every dish and getting familiar with the unique taste of each ingredient. i read cookbooks and foodblogs. i take mental notes of recipes kahit na hindi ko pa naman lulutuin. i collect herbs and spices and try to use them as often as i can para malaman ko which goes well with what. and i keep a magic notebook where i record my own version of the recipes that i was able to cook successfully. nalubog nga si magic notebook nung baha. pinatuyo ko na lang.

Leave a Reply

