a writing refuge

writing refugeThe two most difficult parts of finishing a serious writing project is finding the time and a conducive venue where you can conceptualize for long, uninterrupted hours. My usual recourse is to work in the wee hours, or borrow a small corner of my mother’s office, or borrow my brother’s room so I could secretly work while the babies play downstairs. The problem with working at home, especially if you have little kids, is that you can’t help but to want to spend time with them. If and when you resist the urge to be with them, you can’t help but feel a little guilty and won’t be able to focus on your writing.

The best and only solution really is to get out of the house and find a place where you can think and write and think some more. Lucky for me, I have found my writing haven one tricycle ride away from home.

Yesterday, I hesitantly walked inside Baang Coffee Shop because the sign outside says free wifi. I know Starbucks has free wifi and there’s also a branch nearby but I don’t really like the taste of coffee in Starbucks (sorry Starbucks lovers) although their tea blends are acceptable. Besides, the ambiance in Starbucks is so conducive for chatting, I don’t think I will be able to concentrate on writing amidst gossips and hearty laughter.

Anyway, I was also attracted by the plants lining the outside sitting area of Baang Coffee. Even though it was along Imelda Avenue, which is a busy street, the passing vehicles are not at all distracting and even their noise is tolerable. And if you’re seriously working, even the jeepney honks are hardly noticeable.

baang coffee shop exterior

Inside, the atmosphere is relaxed with wooden chairs and neutral colors. The usual customers are laptop-laden individuals, a proof of it being a conducive environment for working and writing away. The music they play is mostly R&B and some soft alternative songs. Not really my type of music, but as I said, if you’re busy working, you wouldn’t notice.

baang coffee shop interior

This morning I ordered a cup of freshly brewed coffee, which is okay and cheap. Yesterday I had a nice pot of oolong tea all to myself. I really like their cups and pots which is glazed with Mt. Pinatubo ashes.

pinatubo ashglaze cups and pots

The food they serve is hot and freshly cooked, definitely not microwave reheated. They have pretty large servings for the rice plates and regular serving sizes for the pasta. For lunch I ordered the Baangs Chops, probably a signature dish, and I was surprised by almost an inch thick of pork meat grilled medium well. The taste is okay but the plating is better.

baang chops for my lunch

I spend an average of P250 each time that I am here which is equivalent to 8 glorious hours of writing. That is hard to beat.

A couple more days here and I’m done with my project. When I get paid, I’ll probably have my victory party here. Or maybe, I’ll just stay at home and make up for lost time with the kids.

2 thoughts on “a writing refuge

  1. “The problem with working at home, especially if you have little kids, is that you can’t help but to want to spend time with them. If and when you resist the urge to be with them, you can’t help but feel a little guilty and won’t be able to focus on your writing.”

    – i totally relate!

Leave a Reply

